Research Institute for Veterinary Science

Establishment and its Significance

The aim of the SNU VMTH is to provide best quality health care service for all animal patients and clients. For these reasons, the hospital staffs including 14 professors, more than 50 Veterinarians, around 50 senior veterinary students, 8 veterinary technicians and other support staffs are trying to do our best in the specified service including internal medicine, surgery, dermatology, ophthalmology, medical imaging, clinical pathology, exotic/zoo animal medicine and theriogenology. More than 14,000 visits including dogs, cats, horses, exotic animals and farm animals are recorded annually.

The former presidents and the chiefs of each division since our founding are as below.


 The chief of the division of projectThe presidentThe chief of the division of projectThe chief of the division of project
1st1982.11.26 – 1984.11.25Jun YoonseongShin KwangsoonHan Hongryul
2nd1984.11.26 – 1986.11.25Jun YoonseongShin KwangsoonHan Hongryul
3nd1986.11.26 – 1988.11.25Park EungbokLee JoonsupLee Yongsoon
4nd1988.11.26 – 1990.11.25Park EungbokLee JoonsupNam Chichou
5nd1990.11.26 – 1992.11.25Shin KwangsoonLee HeungshikKim Sunjoong
6nd1992.11.26 – 1994.11.25Lee JoonsupLee HeungshikKim Sunjoong
7nd1994.11.26 – 1996.11.25Lee HeungshikHwang WoosukLee Moonhan
8nd1996.11.26 – 1998.12.7Lee HeungshikHwang WoosukLee Moonhan
9nd1998.12.8 – 1999.12.28Lee InseHwang WoosukLee Moonhan
10nd1999.3.1 –Lee ChangwooWoo HeejongLee Moonhan